Folders

These settings contain the folders where the Old files come from ( and will be returned to once finished ) as well as an optional backup folder if required.

Production Data Folder

The Production Data Folder is where the Live files with data are copied from. Each time you run the Import, the files are copied from this location and then the import can start. Because it's a copy and not a move, you don't have to be concerned about the original files moving location. But you should also be sure to select files that are not open in FileMaker Pro or FileMaker Server as they may not be copied successfully or be still valid once copied.

Ask the User

In this case, it will ask the user to locate the production files, then put up a select folder dialog. You should customise the "Select Dialog Title" text to explain the likely location to the user.

Stop and Show Dialog

This will prevent the import from completing if the files can't be found. This is for the situation where you only want to import from a fixed folder. The "Select Dialog Title" option should explain that the file cannot be found in the specified folder.

Show Separate Dialog

This will put up the text for the "Ask the User" option in a separate dialog, as well as in the title of the "Select Folder" dialog. A separate dialog is clearer for most users who will not always recognise the title text and not understand what to select in the "Select Folder" dialog.

Backup Folder

If the Backup Folder field is empty, then RefreshFM will automatically use create a sub folder with the current timestamp. There isn't an option not to do a backup, so if you want to remove files, then this should be done later once the new solution is running. If a backup option has been specified but the folder cannot be created then the user will be prompted for an alternate backup location.

There is also the option to zip the backup folder once the backup is complete. This is helpful as it prevents the user from opening the old files without first unzipping and moving them.

Final Data Folder

The final step in the process once the import has completed, is to move the files into the final location. When this folder is left blank, it defaults to the same folder as the files originally came from, namely the Production Data Folder. But modifying this option allows you to put the new files somewhere else. For example the situation where you're importing from a "Version 1" folder and you want the new version to reside in the "Version 2" folder.

The advantage of using this multi step process is that if the import is not successful you don't need to do anything, as the original files haven't moved you can restart the files in FileMaker Server or continue using the local copy.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.